Pas votre langue ? | Nicht Ihre Sprache ? | Français Deutsch
Stay connected
to receive our newsletter simply indicate your mail address
GIFT OF THE DAY

free with your order in the shop of Philatelie.fr
Buy
Publicity
Buy
Special offers
Buy
A selection from our offer
Buy
Articles we selected for you

The History of the Stamp

 
 
 
 
 
1840

Great Britain

The first stamp of the world, the 'One-Penny-black' was issued in 1840 in Great-Britain following a postal reform under Minister Rowland Hill. With the invention of the stamp, the idea that the sender and not the recipient had to pay for the transport, was generally accepted. After that...
 
 
 
 
 
1843

Switzerland

...the next stamps were issued in Switzerland in 1843, the so-called "Cantonal stamps", first issued in the swiss canton of Zurich and then in the canton of Geneva (fig. the right half of the "double Geneva").
 
 
 
 
 
1843

Brazil

In the same year, in 1843, Brazil issued its very first stamp the so-called "ox-eyes", three items with values of 30, 60 and 90 Reis, which were printed in three horizontal lines in the same sheet, so that pairs of different values would be formed.
 
 
 
 
 
1847

U.S.A.

The first stamps of the U.S.A., issued individually in some towns and states, were so-called "postmaster issues"; e.g.. the local issues Millbury and St. Louis. Some of these stamps are extremely rare and sometimes exist only in one single copy.
 
 
 
 
 
1847

Mauritius

... last but not least, the most famous stamp of the world, the 'Mauritius Blue', was issued in 1847 in the British colony Mauritius, with the erroneous inscription 'Post Office' - instead of 'Post Paid' like on the later issues - they were issued to stamp and decorate invitations for the party of a lady.
 
 
 
 
 
1848

Bermuda

In 1848 the first stamps of the Bermuda Islands appeared. They were issued by the postmaster W.B. Perot for Hamilton; only a very few copies of these stamps exist, usually in damaged condition and cut around.
 
 
 
 
 
1849

Germany

The first German stamp, the 'Bayern-Einser black' issued in 1849 in Bavaria was ordered by King Maximilian II of Bavaria. Shortly after that a variation appeared with values of 3 and 6 Kreuzer, whose paper contain silk threads to prevent forgeries.
 
 
 
 
 
1849

Belgium

The first stamp of Belgium, was issued in 1849 with the picture of King Leopold I. and was printed on watermarked paper, also a measure taken to prevent forgeries.
 
 
 
 
 
1849

France

The first stamp of France, the '20 Centimes Cérès', issued in 1849 was black, like most of the early issues of different countries, all inspired by the 'One Penny Black'.
Buy
Visit the shop of philatelie.fr
Buy
Click to see the the article
Buy
Publicity
Buy
Special offers
Buy
A selection from our offer
Buy
Articles we selected for you

Not your language ? | Nicht Ihre Sprache ? | English Deutsch
Restez informé
pour recevoir notre newsletter indiquez votre Email s.v.p. !
CADEAU DU JOUR

gratuit avec votre commande dans la boutique de Philatelie.fr
Achat
Publicité de Martins Philatelie
Achat
Promotions de Martins Philatelie
Achat
Une sélection de notre boutique
Achat
Lots sélectionnés pour vous

L'Histoire du Timbre-Poste

 
 
 
 
 
1840

Grande Bretagne

Le premier timbre-poste du monde, le 'One-Penny-black' fut émis le 6 Mai 1840 en Grande Bretagne suite à une réforme postale sous le ministre Rowland Hill. On vit la victoire de l'idée que les frais d'expédition devaient être payés à l'avance et non pas restés aux frais du destinataire.
 
 
 
 
 
1843

Suisse

Les prochains timbres apparurent dans les années suivantes, en 1843, en Suisse, les soi-disant "Emissions cantonales" : d'abord le canton Zurich et quelques mois plutard le canton Génève (fig. moitié droite de la "Double-Génève")
 
 
 
 
 
1843

Brésil

Dans la même années, en 1843, Brèsil émettait son premier timbre-poste, le soi-disant "oeil-de-boeuf"; trois valeurs à 30, 60 et 90 Reis furent imprimées dans la même feuille en trois rangées et quelques paires se-tenants verticales existent.
 
 
 
 
 
1847

Etats-Unis

Les premiers timbres des Etats-Unis furent émis dans certaines villes et certains états fédéraux, p.ex. les émissions pour Millbury ou St. Louis. Quelques-une de ces émissions sont extremement rares et n'existent parfois qu'en un seul exemplaires.
 
 
 
 
 
1847

Île Maurice

... et le timbre le plus célèbre du monde, la 'Maurice bleu', émis dans la colonie britannique en 1847 qui portait l'inscription erronée 'Post Office' - au lieu de 'Post Paid' comme les émissions suivantes - Il fut produit afin d'affranchir les invitations d'une lady pour son bal.
 
 
 
 
 
1848

Île Bermude

En 1848 l'Isle Bermude vit son premier timbre-poste, une émission faite par l'agent postal W.B. Perot pour la ville Hamilton. Seulement quelques exemplaires sont restés, dont la plupart endommagés et coupés ronds.
 
 
 
 
 
1849

Allemagne

Le premier timbre allemand, le 'schwarze Bayern-Einser' fut émis en 1849 il fut produit suite à un décret de Maxime II., roi de la Bavière; peu après, les deux autres valeurs - 3 et 6 Kreuzer - parurent avec un fil de soi pour éviter les contrefactions.
 
 
 
 
 
1849

Belgique

Le premier timbre de la Belgique fut émis en 1849, imprimé sur papier avec filigrane et portait l'image de Léopold I, le roi belge de cet époque.
 
 
 
 
 
1849

France

Le 1er timbre de la France, le 20 cts. Cérès de 1849 était noir, comme la plupart des timbres pionniers des divers pays, suivant l'exemple du 'One-Penny-Noir'.
Achat
Visitez la boutique de philatelie.fr
Achat
Cliquez pour voir l'article
Achat
Publicité de Martins Philatelie
Achat
Promotions de Martins Philatelie
Achat
Une sélection de notre boutique
Achat
Lots sélectionnés pour vous
philatelie.fr - la philatélie française sur Internet | Un service gratuit de Martins Philatelie : www.martins.fr